Hump-Day House Stuff: Resources

On this page I’ll share links to some of the great service providers, educational sources, and suppliers we’ve worked with during our renovation, by general classification, and more or less in the order we used them. There were surely more – some, sadly, were victims of the economic downturn. There were also many visits to demonstrations out on YouTube for some of the new things Tim learned on our journey.


Support & Education:

The Passive House Institute: https://passivehouse.com/

Fine Homebuilding: https://www.finehomebuilding.com/ (providing link to their website, but Tim has been a subscriber to the magazine fo 30 years)

The Journal of Light Construction: https://www.jlconline.com/ (same as above, but he was a subscriber for fewer years – about 9, I’d guess)

Windows & Exterior Doors:

Thermotech Fiberglass Fenstration (windows): 613-839-6158 

Klearwall Industries (U.S. Distributor for doors): https://klearwall.com/

Munster Joinery (doors manufacturer): http://www.munsterjoinery.ie/

Mechanicals:

Zehnder (HRV “air exchange” system): https://zehnderamerica.com/

Mitsubishi (“mini-split” heating and cooling system): https://www.mitsubishicomfort.com/

Nutmeg Mechanical (Mitsubishi installers): http://nutmegmechanical.com/

Plumbing (Fixtures – Faucets, Sinks, Tubs, Fittings):

Plimpton & Hills: https://www.plimptonhills.com/

Tile & Stone:

Akdo: https://www.akdo.com

Tile America: https://www.tileamerica.com/

Universal Tile: http://universaltile.biz/

The Tile Shop: https://www.tileshop.com/

Hartford Granite & Marble: http://hartfordgraniteandmarble.com/

Schluter Systems: https://www.schluter.com/schluter-us/en_US/

Lighting & Hardware:

Connecticut Lighting Centers (lighting, cabinet knobs & pulls): https://www.ctlighting.com/

Home Depot: https://www.homedepot.com

Wallplate Warehouse: https://www.wallplatewarehouse.com

Lumber & Interior (Framing, Sheetrock, Flooring & Finish):

Rings End (interior doors, doorknobs, moldings): https://www.ringsend.com/

Sanford & Hawley (lumber, moldings): https://sanhaw.com/

Nelson Drywall: 860-633-7691

Connecticut Wood Floors, LLC: 860-526-8410

Home Depot: https://www.homedepot.com

Cabinetry & Stairs:

Dean Cabinetry: https://deancabinetry.com/

Regional Stairs (stair handrails and custom finials): http://regionalstairsllc.com/

Stair Parts Only (newel posts): https://www.stairpartsonly.com/